Guided tour of the Devon and Exeter Institution (Exeter Branch)
Fri. 5 July 2024 at 2:00 pm
Although members have previously enjoyed Exeter Branch events at the Devon & Exeter Institution (DEI), there has never been a formal guided tour of the premises – until now.
The medieval building was originally owned by Exeter Cathedral but was inherited by the Courtenays in the 17th century who used it as their town house. ‘200 Gentlemen of the City’ then took over the building in 1814 and adapted the layout to create two Georgian rooms to house museum pieces and books: the former were donated to the Royal Albert Memorial Museum in 1868 as the basis of their collection.
Today, the two-room, galleried library contains a unique store of historical books as well as other items pertaining to Devon such as maps, drawings and prints. In 1989 the DEI became an educational charity and works closely with the University of Exeter and others engaged in Exeter’s historical and cultural heritage.
You are advised to book early as individual groups are limited to 15 persons.