Axe Valley Branch


The Axe Valley Branch was established more than sixty years ago and is a friendly group of active Association members. Most live in one of the numerous and diverse towns, villages and hamlets around the Axe Valley – some further afield.

Meetings are usually held on the third Wednesday afternoon of each month from October to March and take the form of an illustrated talk presented by an invited speaker. When choosing topics we aim to be consistent with those of the Association, namely science, literature and the arts, and to reflect the unique heritage, landscape and countryside in this part of East Devon. Our annual programme is usually distributed to members during September.

Meetings commence at 2.30pm in The Pavilion, Peace Memorial Playing Fields, Coly Road, Colyton, EX24 5PU. Notices of meetings are listed on this website (see below), published in the local press and magazines, and displayed on posters.

Association members, prospective members and visitors are always welcome at meetings. A small donation (currently DA members £1, non-members £3) is requested to cover hall and speaker fees.


(as of Feb. 2018)

Chairman: Dr David Westlake
Hon. Secretary: (vacant)
Hon. Treasurer: Dr Michael Barr
Programme Secretary: Brian Denham
Publicity and Reporting: Mrs. Mary Jones


See the forthcoming events organised by the Branch.

It’s also possible to review the Branch’s past events.

Branch postings

The following pages are written and maintained by members of the Branch.

< Tavistock & West Devon BranchBideford Branch >