Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the governing body of the Association. Its role is to ensure the smooth running and development of the Association as a whole, recognising that the Branches and Sections operate in a semi-autonomous fashion. The committee is also responsible for publications, facilitating the President’s Symposium, and organising the Annual Conference and other major events. The Officers are elected annually, while the other members serve a three-year term of office – two being elected each year.

Ten of the members of the Executive Committee of the DA outside the DA's office June 2017

Executive Committee June 2017.
(photo of new committee pending)
Back row: Helen Wilson, Colin Turner, John Maltby, Jenny Bennett, Richard Pocock and Malcolm Hart. Front row: Nick Wells, Sue Andrew, Peter Beacham and Bridget Gillard. Absent: Jonathan Aylett. Photographer: Tony Buller.

Officers and Executive

From June 2019

  • Dr Sue Andrew (Chair)
  • Dr Helen Wilson (Vice-Chair)
  • Dr Ian Varndell (Hon. Secretary)
  • Colin W Turner (Hon. Treasurer)
  • Prof. Malcolm Hart (Hon. Editor – Transactions)
  • Prof. Antony T Buller (Publicity)
  • Dr Bridget Gillard (Registrar)
  • Stella Beavan
  • Dr Jenny Bennett
  • John Maltby
  • Richard Pocock



As part of the Association’s governance arrangements, the Executive Committee has approved a set of policies covering the following areas, subject to annual review:

1. Conflicts of interest
2. Risk management
3. Complaints
4. Vulnerable beneficiaries
5. Pay
6. Investment
7. Volunteer management
8. Data privacy

A document giving details of these policies is available here.

Business Plan

The Business Plan is intended to give shape to the Association’s ambitions and to give members and others an understanding of our purpose, priorities, plans and financial standing. You can see a copy of our Three Year Business Plan, 2018–2020 here.


A Forum, comprising the Executive Committee and representatives of the Sections and Branches, meets twice a year to discuss matters related to the running of the Association as a whole, and to exchange news, views and ideas.